Scroll To Top
History of AAGPS Head of the River Rowing Regatta

1937 NSW AAGPS Head of the River

Day of Triumph. Victory in Three Races. Sydney Church of England Grammar School Magnificent Tussle in Eights. (Sydney Morning Herald, 03 May 1937).

Winning one of the greatest rowing contests witnessed by the present generation, Sydney Church of England Grammar School gained the Great Public Schools’ “Head of the River” title on the Nepean on Saturday.

It beat Scots College in the eights by only a quarter of a length, with Sydney Grammar School a length further away. St. Joseph’s College (last year’s winners) was a quarter of a length back, followed closely by Sydney High School, Newington College, and St. Ignatius’ College in the order, separated by only a few feet. The King’s School was a couple of lengths behind them.

It was a fitting climax of Sydney Church of England Grammar School’s day of triumph, for earlier it had won the two races for the fours, thus repeating a feat it had performed in 1928. The winning eight was a combination dependent largely on science owing to its lack of weight, and gave under extreme pressure, an exhibition which was a splendid example of cultured rowing.


Senior 1st Eight

Major Rennie Trophy


¼ length

1 length

¼ length

1st           Sydney Church of England Grammar School – Bow: J.B. St. Vincent Welch, 2: R.D. Redford, 3: J.A. Cormack, 4: W.A. Pringle, 5: E.P. Trebeck, 6: T.W. Wise, 7: B.L. Geddes, Str: A.D. Ferguson, Cox: R.G. Wotton, Cch: L.C. Robson

2nd          The Scots College – Bow: F.J. Horsefield, 2: R.H. Robilliard, 3: C.H. McGregor, 4: R.S. Littlejohn, 5: J.W. Crane, 6: F.C. Norrie, 7: G.C. Nott, Str: H.M. Samins, Cox: H.F. Kerr, Cch: N.C. Pottie

3rd          Sydney Grammar School – Bow: L.T. Milgate, 2: M.D. Ravell, 3: G.R. Dibbs, 4: W.M. Dill-Macky, 5: A.R. Burkitt, 6: A.B.M. Evans, 7: E.J.H. Howard, Str: P.A. Deck, Cox: J.B. Winning, Cch: A.T. Stewart

4th          St. Joseph’s College – Bow: H. Eccleston, 2: V. Love, 3: F. Flood-Nagle, 4: B. Welch, 5: H. Dening, 6: J. Whitehurst, 7: J. Deery, Str: V. Butler, Cox: R. Crane, Cch: B.S. Williams

Senior 1st Four

Yaralla Cup



2 lengths

3 ft

1st           Sydney Church of England Grammar School – Bow: W.A. Starkey, 2: W.W. Woodward, 3: B.P. Jay, Str: G.H. Mackisack, Cox: R.P. Windeyer, Cch: J.B. Burrell

2nd          The Scots College – Bow: J.R. Murray, 2: E.C. Leslie, 3: H.A. Bennett, Str: P.H. May, Cox: B.S. Hulbert, Cch: D.A. Elias

3rd          St. Joseph’s College – Bow: T. Day, 2: J. McAuley, 3: F. Potter, Str: L. Rowe, Cox: S. Dalton, Cch: F. Cronin

4th          Newington College – Bow: A. Kellynack, 2: I.F. Potts, 3: G.R. Howe, Str: W.J. Greig, Cox: C. Miller, Cch: W. Heyde

Senior 2nd Four


3 lengths

½ length

½ length

1st           Sydney Church of England Grammar School – Bow: K.J. Cameron, 2: I.A. Geddes, 3: W.B. Pritchett, Str: J.R. Banyard, Cox: G.E. Goldring, Cch: J.B. Burrell

2nd          St. Joseph’s College – Bow: D. Graham, 2: E. Impey, 3: R. Byrne, Str: P. McDade, Cox: S. McCabe, Cch: F. Cronin

3rd          Sydney High School – Bow: R. Grey, 2: D. Brent, 3: F.P. Koad, Str: T. Gilderthorpe, Cox: T. Kelly, Cch: D.J. Dulley

4th          The Scots College – Bow: J. Musgrave, 2: J.L. Bowman, 3: P.W. Grieve, Str: R.R. Butler, Cox: C. Vaughan, Cch: L.W.F. Webster

< previous 1936

> next 1938

top of page

Website by Hope Stewart—Website Design & Management