Scroll To Top
rowing victoria state championships

1890 Rowing Victoria State Championships

The Championship Four was won by Yarra Yarra for the first of four times.

Given the expense and difficulty of travel at this time, and the regular appearance at these Championships by intercolonial crews (including New Zealand), the importance of these Championships were amply demonstrated. 

The new Hawthorn Bridge in 1890


Champion Men's Scull

(3 miles)

Time: 21:10

1st J C Fitzgerald, Melbourne City

2nd William Lambert, Mercantile (NSW)

3rd J L Bannister, Corio Bay

4th J B Walters, Yarra Yarra

5th G Browne, Melbourne City

6th P Bradley, Melbourne City

7th A F Garrard, Barwon

William Lambert from NSW

Champion Men's Four

(3 miles 330 yds.)

Time: 19:30                 

1st Yarra Yarra – Bow: Charles W Horsburgh, 2: J Yeomans, 3: Alex Chamley, Str: Edward R Ainley, Cox: V G Petherick

2nd Banks

3rd Albert Park

4th Melbourne

5th Barwon

The winning Yarra Yarra Rowing Club Four

Back row:  2: J Yeomans, 3: Alex Chamley, Str: Edward R Ainley
Front row: V G Petherick and Charles W Horsburgh

Champion Men's Eight

(Distance – Not recorded)

Time: 17:58

1st Banks – Bow: C Poynter, 2: A Dench, 3: W H Hatch, 4: H M Hutchinson, 5: G K Harker, 6: C M Garrard, 7: F G Payne, Str: R B Nicolson, Cox: H C Edwards

2nd Yarra Yarra

3rd Albert Park

4th Williamstown


The Victorian Oarsman with a Rowing Register, by John Lang, published by A H Massina and Company 1919.

Champion four photograph from Yarra Yarra Rowing Club.

William Lambert and Hawthorn Bridge photos from the Andrew Guerin collection

< previous 1889

> next 1891

top of page

Website by Hope Stewart—Website Design & Management