Scroll To Top
History of Rowing Victory Inc

History of Rowing Victoria Inc

Appendix 6. Roll of Honour WWII

The following list is compiled from the following sources:

  • 1944-45 Victorian Rowing Association annual report;
  • listed in club houses; and
  • club histories.

Given the proximity to the war, some of the lists used will not include those who died of wounds. They also do not include those who served in WWII and subsequently joined rowing clubs. It has been a difficult list to compile and so subject to regular updating.

The bolded names are of those who died in service or were missing at the date of the source listing used.

The Victorian Rowing Association annual report of 1944-45 also noted: The relief experienced throughout the world consequent on the victory gained by the Allied Nations after nearly six years of war cannot but find an echo in rowing circles, and it is felt that in the hearts of each and every oarsman there is a sincere feeling of gratitude to our Divine Master for his mercy in bringing peace to a warweary world. To hope that there will no more wars is to perhaps hope for the impossible, but it is hoped that the aggressor nations will think wisely and well before again deciding that armed might can triumph over right. If they do this it is felt that there will be a long era of peace in which to mould a new and better world.

The following abbrievations are used in this listing:

  • K -killed in action
  • M - missing
  • PW - prisoner of war
  • D - dies on service overseas
  • KA - killed, air training crash
  • DW - died of wounds

Albert Park Rowing Club

K. W. Anderson S. J. Elder (PW) L. Lazarus
F. G. Bateman F. C. Findlay (PW) K. McAllister
K. W. Bell (PW) J. Gissing S. J. Pitcher
W. C. Channon (D) F. Glover (W) W. D. Sampson
K. Church R. Gould A. Wiltshire
E. T. Connolly A. N. Henderson P. Woodhouse
A. L. E. Cooper (PW) B. Kennedy  
N. D'Arcy E. Lyne  

Ballarat Rowing Club

E. Andre (PW) K. Hale R. Pound (K)
J. Andre J. Hawke (K) B. Riddell
R. Anwyl C. Holt T. Roberts
A. Beaton N. R. Jelbart B. Robinson
H. Bell P. Jelbart A. Rowe
H. Berry L. Jones L. Sharpe
B. Boyton M. Jones C. E. Suffren D.F.C.(PW)
A.K. Browne (PW) A. J. King (W) C. F. Suffren
A. Crabbe M. Little M.C. (W) J. Suffren
A. Dawson W. McCoy J. E. Suffren
M. McL. Dunn D. McLenehan (PW) F. Taylor
G. Farrar E. McLenehan, G. Taylor
C. Frees H. K. Nevitt (K) L. Valpied
P. Gallagher J. Penaluna (PW) W. Walker
B. R. Goon H. Pittard V. Wendt

Ballarat City Rowing Club

E. Allan H. Hill C. Phillips
L. Augustine
T. T. Holloway W. Pinney
H. Bancroft N. Hullich F. Pring (PW)
A. Bannister L. Johnson W. Pring
S. J. Barnett E. Jones J. Rapkins
G. J. Beechie K.D. Keith (PW) H. Reilly
J. Birch K. Kemp J. Reilly (K)
J. Brooks 0. King D. Richards (PW)
A. K. Browne (PW) S. Lawson J. Roberts (PW)
B. Browne J. Leach J. Rogers (PW)
F. Callahan N. Lee D. Rousch (DW)
P. Christopherson A. G. Lillingston J. R. Sandall
W. Crosthwaite (PW) J. Lithgow B. Scully
F. Davis W. Long G.Slattery
J. C. Desnoy H. Luke D. Sneddon
W. Dixon M. Mathews J. Stephens
W. Ehms L. Middleton J. Stevens
A. Ehms R. Mitchell K. Stevens
K. Elliott F. Moon B. Story
G. Gluth R. Moon R. Telfer
J. Grenfell W. Murray R. Westcott (KA)
A.Halstead K. McKenzie (K) F. Wray
I. Hare (K) F. E. McKewon L. Zilles
G. Henderson J. O'Donnell (K)  


M. T. Armstrong (PW) I. R. Foster R. E. Z. Nankerville
T. D. Armstrong C. J. B. Frusher R. McK. Neave
F. J. Bailey D. T. Galt D.F.C. (K) J. F. O'Connell
R. W. Beck R. Gamon G. O'Day
J. Beckett F. M. Groube W. T. Owen (K)
G. Beckingsale P. F. Haeberle J. C. Parker
E. D. O. Blom J. Halse J. G. Parr
W. L. Bowen J. L. Hardie G. Paterson
R. O. Bowron (KA) G. O. Harris J. H. Pawson
W. T. Bray A. J. Haslem P. W. Pederson
A. J. E. Burkitt (PW) J. W. Haslem D. G. Peverell
D. G. Burkitt J. M. Haslem (PW) D. F. Purbrick
F. Burnett C. Hayton L. D. Randall
F. N. Buxton B. Healey (PW) J. G. Rawson (PW)
R. Byrne (KA) C. I. McG. Herbert (K) N. C. Reid
G. S. Cherry P. Hodgins C. L. Rogers (K)
S. Chidgey L. Hoole
A. E. Sanderson
H. D. Christian (K) B. B. Horsefall D. Sawers
R. R. Clark G. S. Howis G. A Scott
J. P. Cook J. Inglis B. Seletto
G. W. Copeland J. A. C. Kennedy D.F.C. D. E. Shinkfield
C. C. Corney K. W. Kennedy J. J. C. Short
H. L. Cornwell L. Kilpatrick J. Smeaton
I. D. Crompton H. T. Lambie (PW) R. A. Smithers
K. G. G. Crossley L. F. LeGet N. D. Smyrk
R. G. Crossley S. E. MacGregor T. Stephens (K)
K. S. Cusworth A. Macpherson G. Stewart M.C.
V. H. Daniel J. A. McBean A. J. Tainsh
A. C. Davies J. McDonnell (K) N. O. Thomas
S. Davis J. E. McKeddie M.C. R. W. Tulloch
J. D. Docherty A. G. McKinnon H. P. Varley
J. E. Dowling R. Y. Meredith W. Waddell
R. W. Elliston K. Moor D.F.C. (K) G. E. Walker
J. G. Farmer L. Morgan G. L. Whittaker
T. H. Fenner C. Murphy W. Wentworth
D. Ferguson G. H. Murphy C. N. Young

Barwon Rowing Club

N. Cochrane D. Guye S. McDonald
L. Coleman (K) L. Hagan D. McGee (M)
D. Davies T. Horton S. McGee
A. Duffield E. Mann W. E. Meyer
A. Firth Ron Matthews F. Roadknight (D)
N. Fitts Ross Matthews P. Roadknight

Corio Bay Rowing Club

R. Allan R. Herbert
J. Pender (K)
T. Baker T. Hiddleston (KA) W. Powney
J. Boyd (K)
A. R. Hutton H. Pronk (KA)
W. Charles A. Julyan W. Russell (K)
J. Colley (PW) N. A. Kelly C. Rutland
T. Craven P. F. Kelly (PW) C. G. Saleh
M. Crawcour S. Lewis E. A. Searle
R. Crellin J. E. McDonald E. R. Searle
C. Demllo (PW) N. McDonald G. E. Searle (K)
R. Edmonds
J. McGuiness G. J. Searle
C. Fish L. McKay L. H. Searle
J. Gilbert W. Meloury (W) W. A Searle
D. Gill D. Munday
H. Splatt
H. J. Glover H. Munday (K) H. G. Strachan
J. Goodall N. H. Oliver R. Strachan
R. Gowty S. Orr M. Winstanley (M)
E. Gowty J. Peers  

Corowa Rowing Club

N. Adams (PW)
J. Marsh (PW)
J. Strong (PW)
M. Colvin G. Rosser  
V. Howard H. Strong  

Dimboola Rowing Club

A. D. S. Anderson
S. W. Haines (PW)
F. Proud
R. E. Andrews (D) F. Harkins A. W. Rankin
W. C. Brand R. C. Kofoed (M) A. L. Ronning
F. W. Carpenter P. H. A. Kraft R. J. F. Scott
A. C. Cordner R. Maggs E. G. Searle
L. J. Cordner W. B. McCarthy L. Sharp
A. H. Dalitz H. V. McLennan G. S. Smith
P. R. Gavens D. G. Moy R. J. Spencer
E. A. Gazelle V. E. Pratt  
L. C. Gazelle F. L. Prior  

Essendon Rowing Club

C. W Adams
L. C. Freeman
T. J. McCarthy
N. D. Anderson A. Galvin (PW) G. L. Miller
L. Arnold R. Hodson J. Parsons
Reg G. Barnes (PW) W. B. James K. Pettman (PW)
W. Bendon G. Jennings D. Pout
J. Brennan W. I. Johnson J. G. Rae
Orm F. C. Copas (K) R. Leavold R. H. Rojo
D. W. Decis T. Leonard R. C. Swanson
G. I. Dundas C. Maclean R. H. Tucker
S. Dunstone R. M. Maclean G. W. White
H. J. Firth W. Maclean G. H. Wilkins

Footscray City Rowing Club

D. Armitage
E. V. Fox
R. McPherson
J. Asker A. P. Frith H. Milvain
R. Barry A. Goods M. R. Montgomery
R. H. Bluett J. W. Groves
H. R. Moran
W. Brace J. C. Hardy J. C. Morgan (DW)
H. Brace N. Hartmann T. Morgan
R. Britton W. Hayes T. O'Brien
L. Burns
S. Heaviside J. O'Donohue
L. Byrne J. Hicks R. E. Oliver
J. Cassell R. Hicks K. F. Onken
R. J. Chalmers (D)
J. Howard F. Parkinson
J. J. Cleary (K) R. Howie T. V. Pattison
R. Coates J. Horsington Jr. L. Punshon
D. J. Coulton A. E. Hull
R. Shepherd
A. B. Cunningham J. Hunter B. Smart
J. Cunningham W. Hunter G. Stevens
M. Davidson
H. James G. Tankard (K)
Mc. Davidson P. Jolly W. E. W. Taylor
L. Davis A. Jones H. B. Tribe
G. Davison C. C. Lester C. Turner
R. W. Davison A. R. Litster G. Turner
W. Dawson K. Longton R. Turner
W. Dell C. Martin B. Voice
K. Dobson B. Martyn
P. Westcott
L. Fawcett R. B. McEwan C. Whittle
R. W. Firth C. A. McPherson G. Young

Hawthorn Rowing Club

A. H. Bamford
W. Ellis
L. Muir
H. D. Bown G. Emmerson G. Nicholls
S. Boxall W. Feldt J. Nicholls
N. J. Cheshire (K)