1922 Australian Ladies' Rowing Council meeting

Third conference held April 22, 1922 in Christ Church School Hall, Sydney 1st May 1922.

Correspondence was read from the South Esk and Eastern Suburbs Rowing Clubs asking for affiliation to the Council. Miss Donnell moved that the Eastern Suburbs Ladies Rowing Club become affiliated with the Council. Seconded by Miss Kirkpatrick.

With regard to the South Esk application, Mrs. Robinson informed the meeting that as the Tasmanian Association control Ladies Rowing Races and had now been formed in Tasmania, Miss Abercrombie moved that they should apply to the Tasmanian Ladies Rowing Association. Seconded by Miss Donnell.

Miss Abercrombie brought forward a motion that we should have a lady to cox the Interstate Race. Miss Foubister seconded the motion. Miss Donnell moved an amendment that it be left to the states discretion. Mrs. Robinson seconded it which was carried by South Australia, Tasmania and New South Wales. Miss Abercrombie also brought forward a motion seconded by Miss Foubister that the length of the race be altered again to ¾ of a mile. After much discussion with regards to the style of boat for racing - South Australia and Tasmania. thinking ¾ of a mile too far for girls to row in Practice Fours - it was left over until next conference owing to Tasmania not giving two months notice for the change or boats.

Miss Kirkpatrick proposed seconded by Miss Lewis that the race for 1923 be abandoned. Miss Abercrombie moved that the race not be ruled out. Miss Donnell moved an amendment seconded by Mrs. Robinson that the secretary write to the West Australian ladies re the race being rowed in West Australia and if any state should see their way clear to send a crew they should do so.

Miss Abercrombie proposed, seconded by Miss Donnell that Queensland as well as New South Wales be exempt from the 1923 race and that the books be left in the hands of Miss Lewis.

President: Lady Forster

Vice Presidents: Queensland Mrs. Owen Covlishaw

N.S.W. Miss L. Brown

Tasmania -

South Australia. -

Councillors: Queensland Miss Abercrombie

Miss Foubister

N.S.W. Miss K. Kirkpatrick

Miss L. Lewis

Tasmania Mrs. O. Robinson

Mrs. J. Shelton

South Australia Miss Donnell

Miss Thomas