The Australian Women's Rowing Council

Formed 13th May 1920 in Brisbane at Telegraph Chambers, Brisbane.

Constitution

First Resolution:

That a Council having for its principal object the control or ladies' interstate rowing contests be and the same is hereby formed.

Second Resolution:

That the following constitution and rules be adopted:

- 1. The name of the Council shall be "The Australian Ladies' Rowing Council".
- 2. The Council shall consist of all approved ladies' rowing clubs or rowing associations in Australia.
- 3. The objects or the Council shall be:
 - (a) To promote and in all respects control interstate boatraces,
 - (b) To act as a court of appeal for the settlement of all matters in dispute in connection with such boat races, and
 - (c) To make rules for the government or interstate boat-races with power from time to time to alter vary er rescind the same.
- 4. The management of the affairs or the Council shall be vested in two councillors selected by the club or clubs or association in each state taking part in the interstate boat-races and they shall elect a chairwoman and honorary secretary from their own number.
- 5. The Council may elect a president. Each state elect one vice-president from their state represented thereon who shall all hold office until deposed and who shall be eligible to attend and vote at meetings of the council.
- 6. The chairwoman and honorary secretary shall always be councillors of the state in which the interstate boat race is next to be rowed and within one calendar month after the date of such race the honorary secretary shall forward all books papers and moneys belonging to the Council to her successor in office.
- 7. No rule or resolution passed at any meeting or the Council shall be amended repealed or rescinded except by a two-thirds majority of all the affiliated states represented at a subsequent meeting.
- 8. All matters affecting interstate boat-races may be dealt with and decisions thereon arrived at between meetings of the Council in manner following (that is to say):

The club of clubs or association requiring the Council's decision may apply in writing to the honorary secretary for the time being for the same and such honorary secretary shall immediately on receipt of such application notify all the councillors of the matter raised and ask for their state's decision thereon and on receipt or same shall forthwith advise the applicant of the decision of the majority of the states.

Any decision arrived at in this manner shall be binding until the next meeting of the Council is held when any matter so decided shall be re-opened and discussed by the Council when it may be confirmed amended or reversed.

- 9. Each state shall pay an affiliation fee to the honorary Secretary for the time being of 5s. per annum for each of its councillors.
- 10. So far as applicable "conference" decisions and rules governing men's interstate eightoar races and sculls shall be adopted by the Council.

Edris Th. B. MARKS	Chairwoman
Alice Bentley	Delegate NSW
Florence Crozier	Delegate NSW
Mabel A. Sowter	Delegate SA
Mary A. Persse	Delegate SA
Winifred Lea	Delegate Queensland
J.B. Abercrombie	Delegate Queensland

Minutes

A meeting of the representatives or the Lady Rowers or South Australia, New South Wales and Queensland was called by the Hon. Secretary or the Brisbane Ladies' Rowing Club on May 13th, 1928, at the Telegraph Chambers Brisbane, to consider the formation or an Australian Ladies' Rowing Council.

Miss Abercrombie was proposed as Hon. Sec. pro tem by Mrs. Bentley am seconded by Miss Persse which was carried unanimously.

Rules of Racing.

It was decided that:

- 1. The boats be of clinker type of ten planks standard.
- 2. The coxswain be minimum weight of eight stone.
- 3. The length of the race be three quarters of a mile.
- 4. The length and weight of oars be left to individual states decisions.

It was proposed by Mrs Bentley that sec. approach the Ladies Rowing Club, clubs or association in the States not represented, as to their joining the council and thereby claiming a right to compete in interstate contests and a turn to hold them, or where there is no known ladies rowing club the sec. of the men's Rowing Association as to whether there are ladies clubs or a likelihood of any being formed.

Councillors 1920

President:	Lady Helen Munro Ferguson
Vice-Presidents:	NSW not named
	SA Lady Weigall
	QLD Miss Edris Marks
Councillors	As above