Skip navigation

1948 APS Head of the River

The move to the Barwon was made to overcome the crowd control issues of past years. The crowd was reduced to only 15,000 people and well behaved. The heats for the eighty-first Head of the River were conducted on Friday 16th May and the finals were conducted on the next day.

The Fairbairn Cup was again presented on the day to the winning stroke, Brian Doyle of the Xavier crew. The race was a worthy contest with Melbourne Grammar starting the best. Xavier fought back to level by the half mile. However the Xavierians suffered a shipwreck and allowed the Melbourne crew to get a 1/2 length advantage. After the crew settled, Doyle decided that it was now or never and called for a push. This worked well and they moved back to level. The effort was beautiful and allowed Xavier to then push away to win by 3/4 length. Geelong College were a further 1/2 length back.

Sadly, this was to be the last Xavier victory until 1999.

Two members of the 1956 bronze medal winning Australian Olympic eight raced this year. Brian Doyle from the winning crew and Garth Manton from the last placed Geelong Grammar crew. Manton's crew mate Brian Dawe was reserve for this crew.


APS Committee: Walter N Ricketts (MGS - Chairman), J H Campbell (GC), A Marshall (GGS), A W L Mitchell (SC), Alan W Mitchell (WC), Rev E W Morris (XC), E M Davidson (Hon Secretary)

Starters: H J Green and J L Mounsey

Umpires and Timekeepers: Edward Kenny and L Storrer

Judges: Lewis Hirst and T S Barnfather

Despatch Steward: J P Rorke

Clerk of Course: N E Purnell

Head of the River

Distance: 1 mile and 66 yards

Time: 5:06.0
Margins: 3/4 length & 1/2 length

Losers final:
Time: 5:04.0
Margin: 1/2 length

1st Xavier College - Bow: John D Booth, 2: Ian S Rainford, 3: James A Gobbo, 4: Norman M O'Bryan, 5: Lee J Crameri, 6: Gerard A Santospirito, 7: Gerard J O'Keeffe, Str: Brian J Doyle, Cox: Phillip R Plunckett, Cch: Jack Mulcahy
2nd Mebourne Grammar - Bow: J T C Hewison, 2: Roger D Day, 3: R B Lulofs, 4: Anthony J Smith, 5: D C Debenham, 6: E A D Jowlett, 7: J M Withers, Str: H D F Ward, Cox: B A Morgan, Cch: Walter N Ricketts
3rd Geelong College - Bow: I D Ramsay, 2: J B Burgess, 3: D J Morris, 4: J E Varley, 5: R W Purnell, 6: D B Lawler, 7: S W G Johnson, Str: R J Jeffreys, Cox; H M Lilburne, Cch: Albert B Bell

The finish of the Head of the River


Xavier Crew


Losers Final
1st Scotch College - Bow: George A Freeman, 2: James F Kent, 3: James H Ramsay, 4: Ian H Munro, 5: John T De Ravin, 6: Peter L Barrett, 7: Graeme R McLeish, Str: John S Edwards, Cox: William M Bailey, Cchs: Charles G Saleh and James M Ferguson
2nd Wesley College - Bow: C J Hunt, 2: A R Bartram, 3: B C Jones, 4: B Tutton, 5: A J Thompson, 6: M F A Robertson, 7: J C Mcglashan, Str: S F Muir-Smith, Cox: J H Fielden, Cch: Alan W Mitchell
3rd Geelong Grammar - Bow: D A Morwood, 2: D S Thewlis, 3: John S Rowe, 4: J S Jose, 5: G R Reeves, 6: Garth O V Manton, 7: G Brian Dawes, Str: G E Carroll, Cox: P B Wright, Cch: John E L Barber

Heat results:
E1: 1st XC, 2nd WC, Margin: 1/4 length, Time: 5:01.2
E2: 1st MGS, 2nd GGS, Margin: 1/2 length
E3: 1st GC, 2nd SC - SC withdrew during the race after equipment failure.

Geelong Grammar Crew

Back row: D A Morwood, J S Jose, G R Reeve, John S Rowe, D S Thewlis
Front row: C Brian Dawes, G E Carroll, Garth O V Manton
In front: P B Wright

Second Crews

Time: Not known
Margin: 3 feet

Losers final:
Time: 2:30.5
Margin: 1/2 length

1st Scotch College - Bow: M D G Murray, 2: J B Hodges, 3: D W Hobbs, 4: Warwick O Granowski, 5: M B Menelaus, 6: F W Shepherd, 7: G H Fewster, Str: A J Mitchell, Cox: R C Stuart, Cch: J M Ferguson
2nd Melbourne Grammar - Bow: F A Billson, 2: A T Rose, 3: D Weir, 4: J D Scales, 5: F H Osborn, 6: B S Dyson, 7: R A Grieve, Str: K C Griffith, Cox: D N Sargood, Cch: W McKean
3rd Geelong Grammar
- Bow: D W Smith, 2: P C Phillips, 3: D J Wordsworth, 4: A J Brown, 5: R A Walker, 6: J A D Piper, 7: A A Blythe, Str: R J Stalker, Cox: C L Carr, Cch: A S Marshall

Losers final:
1st Wesley College - Bow: J L Blyth, 2: J R M Bottomer, 3: I R W Johnston, 4: W R Fox, 5: J D Bailey, 6: G Heath, 7: T L Read, Str: D W Woodford, cox: R Beaconsfield, Cch: R Boynton
2nd Geelong College - Bow: W J Waugh, 2: W G Mackay, 3: K F Bell, 4: I R Mackay, 5: A F McIlwain, 6: J R Sweetnam, 7: J M Neale, Str: N L Sykes, Cox: G D Best, Cch: B Kelly
3rd Xavier College
- Bow: P D Banfield, 2: J F McCooey, 3: G R Chapman, 4: G L Rush, 5: P F Moloughney, 6: E J Darcy, 7: F X Murphy, Str: R M Williams, Cox: P J Gleeson, cch: Jack J Coghlan

E1: 1st SC, 2nd WC, Margin: 1/2 length
E2: 1st MGS, 2nd GC, Margin 3 feet
E3: 1st GGS, 2nd XC, Margin: 2 lengths

Third Crews

Time: Not known

1st Melbourne Grammar - Bow: G W Rothwell, 2: R S Johnson, 3: J S B Langdon, 4: D Olliff, 5: W J Craig, 6: B C Z Woinarski, 7: R B D Rigg, Str: D Wallace-Mitchell, Cox: G J McIntosh, Cch: A F Hargrave
2nd Wesley College - Bow: B K Wilson, 2: W H Williamson, 3: J C Spencer, 4: P F DeHais, 5: G T Castle, 6: I F H Ross, 7: J I Fielding, Str: R H Bitcon, Cox: C G Durrell, Cch: I S Parkin
3rd Geelong Grammar
- Bow: P J McConaghy, 2: R Y Gardiner, 3: P H D Sleigh, 4: C H Mylius, 5: A S N Ashkanasy, 6: N A Beischer, 7: F D S Gilder, Str: G N Kennison, Cox: H Elford, Cch: Rev S E Jones

Losers final
1st Geelong College - Bow: E C Baird, 2: W A Shaw, 3: J W John, 4: R H Cheetham, 5: I R D Campbell, 6: D L Karmouche, 7: D M New, Str: T G Lawler, cox: J N Button, Cch: P Neil Everist
2nd Scotch College - Bow: Bow: I M Ogilvy, 2: R J D Oliver, 3: I H Cochrane, 4: R Carr, 5: G T Dunwoody, 6: P N Welch, 7: D B Bills, Str: J R Mitchell, Cox: G R Penington, Cch: R I Gillies
3rd Xavier College - Bow: Hubert R Frederico, 2: J P Lachal, 3: J D Chisholm, 4: R M Joshua, 5: G J Troup, 6: M L Niall, 7: A K Joyce, Str: C K Rabl, Cox: B J Lynch, Cch: G Elias

E1: 1st GGS, 2nd SC, Margin: 1/2 length
E2: 1st MGS, 2nd XC, Margin: 1 3/4 length
E3: 1st WC, 2nd GC, Margin 1/3 length

< previous 1947
> next 1949

top of page