Skip navigation

1933 APS Head of the River

By rotation, the sixty-sixth Head of the River was run on the Barwon course on 11th and 12th May.

The Scotch coach changed from Dr Charles Littlejohn to his brother Dr Euan Littlejohn. These brothers had raced in the Scotch first crew in past years. Included in the Scotch crew were Bruce Sloan, son of the great Scotch coach Alex Sloan, and also Alan Jacobsen, who was to become a famous coach of Australian crews.

Scotch has a row over in the heat over because Geelong College withdrew due to diphtheria in the crew.


Starter: H J Green

Umpire and Timekeeper: T Crosthwaite

Judge: H T James

Clerk of Scales: L L O Bevan

Despatch Steward: T Mannix

Barwon Course


Head of the River

Time: 5:42.8
Margin: 1/2 length and 1 length

1st Wesley College - Bow: E A Williams, 2: C H McAlpine, 3: G Rudduck, 4: J B Curtis, 5: J E T Stubbs, 6: G L Millard, 7: A J Horsfield, Str: T R J Walduck, Cox: R M Jerrom, Cch: Charles Donald
2nd Geelong Grammar - Bow: R S Hope, 2: R B Anderson, 3: W E Lloyd, 4: W R Mann, 5: L W Manning, 6: S R C Wood, 7: K F Mollard, Str: A P Belcher, Cox: B H O'Beirne, Cch: William H Pincott
3rd Scotch College - Bow: Marshall B Addison, 2: Bruce B Sloan, 3: Ronald Widmer, 4: Robert B Irving, 5: Leonard M Brown, 6: Alan N Jacobsen, 7: William Morgan, Str: Jack R Collie, Cox: G Harvey Nicholson, Cch: Dr Euan I Littlejohn

The final was conducted at 2pm with SC on the north station, WC centre and GGS on the south. There was a delay at the start due to a rigger repair on the WC boat. The race eventually got away excellently with Geelong rating the highest of the three crews and Wesley soon gaining a quarter of a length over the other two crews. Wesley increased their lead to half a length by Pakington Street with Geelong second and Scoth last. The lead of Wesley grew to a length by the Mills. However Geelong increased their rate and took after Wesley. Wesley managed to hold on by half a length to Geelong with Scotch a further length back.

Wesley College crew


Wesley College rudder


Geelong Grammar crew


Scotch College crew



Other crews competing were:
Melbourne Grammar - Bow: Bruce Edgerton Carnegie, 2: Alfred Henry Morgan Callaway, 3: William Henry Miller, 4: Charles MacVean Branstone Crabb, 5: Roy Douglas Langley, 6: James Baillieu Shackell, 7: Robert William Edward Manser, Str: Ronald Stanley Forge, Cox: Hugh Norman St Omer Dentry, Cch: Walter N "Wally" Ricketts
Xavier College - Bow: A M Rice, 2: J M Coffey, 3: B J Hayden, 4: R T McMinn, 5: A B Grant, 6: V N Sheahan, 7: E P Trahair, Str: George J Perrignon, Cox: J G Rawson, Cch: Mark Shea
Geelong College - Bow: J W R Houston, 2: J H Petrie, 3: J C McClelland, 4: J S Hutton, 5: C J Bartlett, 6: G W Reid, 7: C S Shannon, Str: G G C McKenzie, Cox: E M Emerson, Cchs: L J Campbell & R Emms

Xavier College crew


Geelong College crew


E1: 1st WC, 2nd MGS, Margin: 1 3/4 length, Time: 5:37.
Whilst Grammar got the best of the start, Wesley came back mid way through the race to take the lead. MGS suffered from steering issues and also the ability to claw back the Wesley crew whose boat was running beautifully. WC extended their lead of the final stages.
E2:  1st SC, 2nd GC. Time 6:16.0, Margin: row over.
This was a row over given that GC withdrew after illness to several memners of their crew. This was obviously devasting for them. SC unsuccesfully tried to gain entry to another heat without success. SC paddled over the course hence their time of 6:16.
E3: 1st GGS, 2nd XC, Margin: 2 lengths, Time: 5:31.2
An all the way win to GGS.

Second Eights

(This race was conducted at the Junior Eights Regatta prior to the Head of the River on 6th May on the Upper Yarra. It was raced amongst the Melbourne metropolitan schools.)

Time: 2:41.0
Margins: 2 feet, 2 lengths and 0.5 length

1st Melbourne Grammar - Bow: J G McMahon, 2: M J M Lapin, 3: A N Fraser, 4: V F Dudfield, 5: J A M Erswell, 6: D C Kimpton, 7: K L Benson, Str: P Fraser, Cox: N P Tulloh, Cch: C R Franklin
2nd Wesley College - Bow: N I A Webb, 2: I Jacobs, 3: F G Rickards, 4: F O Sievers, 5: K M Kelly, 6: W B Bowring, 7: H W Nankervis, Str: G C Hartnell, Cox: F Benjamin, Cch: C G McAuliffe
3rd Xavier College - Bow: G Mulvany, 2: V G Burke, 3: M C O'Conell, 4: K W Kennedy, 5: J S Rosel, 6: J W Mornane, 7: P W Marshall, Str: J P Smith, Cox: M F Fakhry, Cch: A M Redding
4th Scotch College - Bow: C R Hume, 2: W C Birch, 3: A L Cordern, 4: P J Wischer, 5: H G P Strahan, 6: W D Mott, 7: D R Gauld, Str: K G H Parsons, Cox: W S Benwell, Cch: C B Boyes

The crews lined up with Scotch on the north station, Wesley on north centre, south centre was Melbourne Grammar and Xavier was on the south station. The start was difficult with a slight north wind blowing both Scotch and Wesley off their line. Regardless of the line, the race was commenced with Scotch in particular suffering. By the staging, Melbourne Grammar and Wesley were fighting out for first place whilst Scotch and Xavier were having their own race a length and a half behind the leaders.

The final result was tight between Melbourne and Wesley with the other crews well behind.

Third Eights

(This race was conducted at the Junior Eights Regatta prior to the Head of the River on 6th May on the Upper Yarra. It was raced amongst the Melbourne metropolitan schools.)

Time: 2:05.2
Margins: 0.5, 1 and 0.5 length

1st Melbourne Grammar - Bow: l L Elliot, 2: C J Taylor, 3: G Beckingsale, 4: T F Harvey, 5: J F Patrick, 6: G F Salter, 7: A R a'Beckett, Str: N L Spiers, Cox: R N Hancock, Cch: I E Giles
2nd Wesley College - Bow: T C Garrett, 2: D W Disher, 3: R M Harris, 4: E T Butcher, 5: I A Wilson, 6: H C Jones, 7: N L Keys, Str: J W Wales, Cox: A Clarke, Cch: H R Millikan
3rd Scotch College - Bow: N C Lee Tet, 2: L S Vial, 3: F W Oldfield, 4: I A'G MacCormick, 5: J Simmonds, 6: J McFarlane, 7: P A Jacobs, Str: G A Morrison, Cox: E H C Clark, Cch: Charles S Donald
4th Xavier College - Bow: O J Coghlan, 2: A T Naughton, 3: G J Mulvany, 4: W A Hind, 5: G G McKenna, 6: B J O'Keefe, 7: M F Doheny, Str: T J Tehan, Cox: H F Moore, Cch: M J Mulcahy

The crews started as follows:

North station - Zavier
North centre station - Melbourne
South centre station - Wesley
South station - Scotch

Scotch had the better of the start and led in the early stages. However the good form of both Melbourne and Wesley soon saw the Scotch crew overtaken.

Finish of the Third Eights

Courtesy of Melbourne Grammar Archives

Fourth Eights

(This race was conducted at the Junior Eights Regatta prior to the Head of the River on 6th May on the Upper Yarra. It was raced amongst the Melbourne metropolitan schools.)

Time: 1:26
Margins: 1 length and 1 length

1st Wesley College - Bow: D L Dick, 2: T R Sherrott, 3: R A McFarlane, 4: I M Burns, 5: N West, 6: V L Jackson, 7: A G Livingston, Str: H C Sweet, Cox: Lockwood, Cch: W Mason-Cox
2nd Melbourne Grammar - Bow: P A Black, 2: I A Scales, 3: I L Smith, 4: G N Harrison, 5: D R Flack, 6: G E Clabburn, 7: J F Davies, Str: J A Smibert, Cox: H S Moroney, Cch: W McKean
3rd Scotch College - Bow: H A Gamble, 2: D M Rankin, 3: G A T Davies, 4: J W Mirams, 5: G H Gossip, 6: A L Hare, 7: R McC Batty, Str: A F Spratt, Cox: P D Balfe, Cch: A F Sloan

The crews started on the following stations:
North - Wesley
Centre - Scotch
South - Melbourne

In the first start, Melbourne broke an oar and a restart was required. The crews started as they finished with a fine win to Wesley.

< previous 1932
> next 1934

top of page