Skip navigation

1920 APS Head of the River

The fifty-third Head of the River was conducted on 8th May in bright sunshine on a calm day before a huge crowd of 100,000 spectators. The heats were coducted the day before. The great race the year before had certainly made this event a must see event for all Melbournians.

Later in this year the successful Geelong Grammar coach E J Curnow unfortunately died at the young age of 55.

Index to Results:


Head of the River

Time: 5:34.0
Margin: One canvas & 2 lengths

1st Geelong Grammar - Bow: G C Northcote, 2: T S Carlyon, 3: R G Ritchie, 4: F S Cole, 5: F Gilder, 6: J S Bloomfield, 7: C R Speeding, Str: R E Webb-Ware, Cox: J E F Mann, Cch: E J Curnow
2nd Scotch College - Bow: Bryan T Keon-Cohen, 2: Douglas A Carter, 3: Charles H Hutton, 4: John G Paton, 5: Allan W Staley, 6: Hugh C Dick, 7: Beresford H Cole, Str: Douglas J W Stone, Cox: William M Shaw, Cch: Alexander B Sloan
3rd Xavier College- Bow: E Rorke, 2: L Lachal, 3; W Bryan, 4: L Cussen, 5: Emmett Shiel, 6: V Kelly, 7: A Hambrook, Str: Gerald Ryan, Cox: J Cosgriff, Cch: Wilfred "Bill" Cahill

Other crews competing included:
Geelong College - Bow: W L Waugh, 2: D W Hope, 3: N K Russell, 4: P Adzen, 5: F W Gilmore, 6: J R Macmillan, 7: G G Pern, Str: C C Bell, Cox: K J Tayor, Cch: H J Young
Wesley College
- Bow: T J Liley, 2: T Standing, 3: D J Lawson, 4: N J Abernethy, 5: A N L Patten, 6: F B Glover, 7: A D McIntosh, Str: H T Gamble, Cox: R M Barden, Cch: Charles Donald
Melbourne Grammar - Bow: G R Weir, 2: N W Lockyer, 3: R Grey-Smith, 4: I D Sargood, 5: G R B Patterson, 6: E O James, 7: M L Baillieu, Str: K G Begg, Cox: J H Fitts

Heat results:
E1: 1st GGS, 2nd GC, Time: 5:32.0, Margin: 2.5 lengths
E2: 1st XC, 2nd MGS, Time: 5:42.0, Margin: One canvas
E3: 1st SC, 2nd WC, Time: 5:38.0, Margin: 0.75 length

The first heat with Geelong Grammar winning

A winning oar from Geelong Grammar

Second Crews

(Not conducted at the Head of the River regatta. These races were conducted the week beforehand on 30th April on the Upper Yarra)

Time: NTT
Margin: 1 foot

1st Wesley College
=2nd Scotch College
=2nd Melbourne Grammar
4th Xavier College

The two Geelong schools conducted their own seconds race on the same day on the Barwon with Geelong Grammar prevailing over Geelong College.

< previous 1919
> next 1921

top of page