Skip navigation

1916 APS Head of the River

The forty-ninth Head of the River returned to the Barwon in accordance with the Headmasters agreement that the race be conducted there every 5 years.

Melbourne Grammar won it's first eight oared Head of the River race.

Interestingly this crew had two brothers and a cousin in the crew, namely Jim and Tom Baillieu with cousin Lambert Latham. They, or their father, wrote to their brother Harry Baillieu MC, who was in the Royal artillery on the Western Front, about the win. In recognition of the vistory, he sought permission from his senior officer to fire off several rounds as a gun salute - permission was granted as long as it was in the general direction of German lines.

An unofficial second crew race was conducted on the Yarra. Eric Carroll, stroke of the Xavier College second crew, challenged three other metropolitan second crews to a half mile race. Scotch and Wesley responded and Wesley won the race.


Head of the River

Time: 5:33.8
Margin: 1/2 length

1st Melbourne Grammar - Bow: L F Armstrong, 2: C H Z Woinarski, 3: J A Campbell, 4: Jim Latham Baillieu, 5: Lambert (Pozzie) Latham, 6: Tom Latham Baillieu, 7: F R Gale, Str: H A White, Cox: T A Harris, Cch: Harry Ross-Soden
2nd Geelong Grammar - Bow: C L Nicholas, 2: I S Black, 3: H C Thomson, 4: C E G Beveridge, 5: C S W Cooke, 6: N F Armitage, 7: J L Jardine, Str: J L Webster, Cox: R H H Perry, Cch: E J Curnow
Disqualified - Wesley College
- Bow: J F Williams, 2: L J Daly, 3: L R Cole, 4: J H Lockwood, 5: W E Maddocks, 6: E D Barden, 7: C M Bowring, Str: G T Gemmell, Cox: G A Cook, Cch: Charles Donald

Melbourne Grammar defeats Geelong Grammar by 1/2 length

Photo courtesy of the Cordner Family

Other crews competing were:
Xavier College - Bow: M Gorman, 2: O Conroy, 3: E Carroll, 4: T King, 5: A Gorman, 6: J San Miguel, 7: J Kennedy, Str: J Noonan, Cox: G Poole, Cch: David Ross
Scotch College - Bow: James E Shilliday, 2: James R Shaw, 3: Norman L Edwards, 4: Arthur W H Booth, 5: Aitchison Grieve, 6: William B Shaw, 7: Leslie F Edmunds, Str: John G Morrison, Cox: Keith Bailhache, Cch: Clive H Disher
Geelong College - Bow: W R MacPherson, 2: J H Waugh, 3: R N Campbell, 4: L E Reid, 5: C G Carr, 6: W E Macmillan, 7: T B Hawkes, Str: I A Campbell, Cox: C C Bell, Cch: William H Pincott

E1: 1st GGS, 2nd XC, Time: 5:30.0, Margin: 3 lengths
E2: 1st WC, 2nd GC, Time: 5:19.0, Margin: 2 lengths
E3: 1st MGS, 2nd SC, NTT, Margin: 3/4 length

< previous 1915
> next 1917

top of page