Skip navigation

1912 APS Head of the River

The forty-fifth Head of the River was conducted on the Upper Yarra course with a three crew final. The heats were conducted on 10th May with the final on 11th May.

A clash whereby Geelong fouled Xavier occurred early in the race and so it was restared.

No second crew races were again conducted.


Head of the River

Time: NTT
Margins: 1 and 1 length

1st Wesley College - Bow: W I Hayes, 2: L J Govett, 3: C R McKemzie, 4: C J McKenzie, 5: K F Abernethy, 6: C S Wood, 7: G C Rowe, Str: Reginald McClure Abernethy, Cox: J Mann, Cch: Charles Donald
2nd Geelong Grammar - Bow: J Webster, 2: K Ronald, 3: J Bartlam, 4: C Hawker, 5: N Stretch, 6: D Robertson, 7: Charles M Armytage, Str: A Davenport, Cox: A Davenport, Cch: A F Garrard
3rd Xavier College- Bow: J Clarebrough, 2: H Quinlan, 3: F Loughnon, 4: Jim Cody, 5: W Flanagan, 6: H Neate, 7: J Cussen, Str: Cecil Quinlan, Cox: F Honan, Cch: Jack Fogarty

Other crews competing were:
Scotch College - Bow: Robert J Davies, 2: John G Morrison, 3: Geoffrey O Robertson, 4: Frederick R McIntosh, 5: James StG Sproule, 6: Alexander E Kelso, 7: James R Morrison, Str: Francis E Dakin, Cox: Hugh A Kane, Cch: Albert G Lindblade
Geelong College - Bow: A A W Hooper, 2: C M Calvert, 3: H F Pillow, 4: G A N Mitchell, 5: O B Bennett, 6: W W Leggatt, 7: J W Reid, Str: G N I Morrison, cox: G G Carr, Cch: William H Pincott
Melbourne Grammar - Bow: H R Hawkins, 2: A G Adams, 3: N G Dean, 4: E W Austin, 5: D H Lawrence, 6: K D Watson, 7: L R Marks, Str: W R Raper, Cox: C R B Norton

Heat results:
E1: 1st GGS, 2nd MGS, Time: 5:56.2, Margin: canvas
E2: 1st XC, 2nd GC, Time: 5:45.2, Margin: 1.5 lengths
E3: 1st WC, 2nd SC, Time: 5:46.0, Margin: 1 length

1912 Wesley College Crew

< previous 1911
> next 1913

top of page