Skip navigation

1899 Head of the River

The thirty-second Head of the River race was conducted on Albert Park Lake on 5th & 13th May and the course enabled a first & final. Scotch won in a good fashion under the great Alex Sloan. Again outrigger fours with sliding seats were used.

Eric Tulloch, the three man of the MGS crew went onto coach MGS first crews from 1921 to 1926. Sadly the night before the final in 1926, he was shot by a burglar in his home.

The river improvements on the Upper Yarra course were being completed at this time.

The testing of the new Monier Bridge at Anderson Street, later named Morell Bridge after Sir Stephen Morell, Lord Mayor of Melbourne and past Scotch College coach.

Note that the river was yet to pass under the bridge. This was to occur with the river improvements at that time.

Index to Results:



Starter: Mr George E Upward
Umpire: Mr George E Upward
Judge: Dr T P McInerney

Head of the River

Time: NTT
Margins:1.25, 0.5 & 1 length

1st Scotch College - Bow: Albert G Lindblade, 2: Herbert B Shaw, 3: Sydney W Smith, Str: John A Fraser, Cox: John S Smith, Cch: Alexander B Sloan
2nd Melbourne Grammar - Bow: B C Merrillees, 2: H C Gordon, 3: Eric W Tulloch, Str: J C Cockbill, Cox: J P Govett, Cchs: A J Evans & W A Purves
3rd Wesley College -
Bow: N L Cleeland, 2: A Blaubaum, 3: A J "Doc" Pearce, Str: F R Looney, Cox: E Jones, Cch: Unknown
4th Geelong Grammar
- Bow: D E Smith, 2: H Fulford, 3: H Lovell, Str: H D K Macartney, Cox: J Elder, Cch: A F Garrard

Melbourne Grammar Four

Back row (from left): H.C. Gordon, Mr W.A. Purves, and B.C. Merrillees.
Seated: J. Cockbill, Mr A.J. Evans and E.W. Tulloch. Out front: J.P.C. Govett (cox)

Second Crews

(This was not conducted at the Head of the River regatta but on 19th May.)

Time: NTT
Margin: 2 feet

1st Geelong Grammar
2nd Melbourne Grammar
3rd Wesley College

< previous 1898
> next 1900

top of page