Skip navigation

1898 Head of the River

This was a year of great note as the schools changed their boats to outrigger fours with sliding seats. This equipment is largely the same as is used today.

The thirty-first Head of the River was conducted on the Barwon on 5th & 6th October and a two crew final was required. The move to October was as a result of crews having insufficient time to prepare crews by May. This arrangement contibued until 1909 when the date returned to May.

Geelong Grammar won in what was the last win for that school until 1914.

Scotch College gained a new coach, the great Alex Sloan. A B Sloan coached 20 crews from 1898 to 1909 and from 1918 to 1925. His crews won seven times including the famous dead heat of 1919. He was a great rower stroking many Victorian crews. His family continued the tradition with his grand child of the same name, racing for Scotch, Victoria and Australia.

Index to Results:


Alexander B Sloan



Starter: Mr M C Shannon

Umpire: Mr M C Shannon

Judge: Mr H P Douglas

Head of the River

Time: 6:50
Margin: 3 lengths

1st Geelong Grammar - Bow: D C Smith, 2: R Whitehead, 3: O Calvert, Str: H D K Macartney, Cox: E R White, Cch: A F Garrard
2nd Melbourne Grammar - Bow: L N Rainey, 2: B C Merrillees, 3: H C Gordon, Str: J C Cockrill, Cox: F Yait, Cch: A J Evans

Other crews competing were:
Scotch College - Bow: Edwin H Muir, 2: John A Fraser, 3: Collin McKenzie, Str: John T Graham, Cox: John S Smith, Cch: Alexander B Sloan
Wesley College - Bow: J H Looney, 2: B Soutith, 3: Y Brown, Str: A J Pearce, Cox: E Jones, Cch: H J Hughes

E1: 1st GGS, 2nd SC, Time: 6:21.0. Margin: 1 1/2 lengths
E2: 1st MGS, 2nd WC, Time: 7:05.0. Margin: 4 lengths

Second Crews

(This was not conducted at the Head of the River regatta but on Albert Park Lake on 20th May.)

Time: NTT
Margins: 1 length and 10 lengths

1st Geelong Grammar
2nd Melbourne Grammar
3rd Wesley College

< previous 1897
> next 1899

top of page