Skip navigation

1895 Head of the River

The twenty-eighth Head of the River was conducted on the Lower Yarra with a four crew first & final on 17th May.

Geelong Grammar won by two lengths. Scotch had the better of the start and Scotch and Geelong left the other crews well from the start. Scotch were well in front by 3/4 mile mark but lost their form. The lower rating Geelong crew rowed past them to win easily. A crab by the two seat of the Scotch crew added to the loss.

Geelong Grammar also started a long run of victories in the second eights.

Index to Results:



Starter: Mr Harold A C Irving

Umpire: Dr G A Brown

Judge: Mr R Chamley

Head of the River

Time: NTT
Margins: 3, 6 & 2 lengths

1st Geelong Grammar - Bow: R M Williams, 2: A W Turnbull, 3: J Parkin, Str: R L Calvert, Cox: E R White, Cch: James L Cuthbertson
2nd Scotch College - Bow: Alastair G Marshall, 2: Robert Ingram, 3: Henry C Clowes, Str: Alfred G Johnson, Cox: John Kirk, Cch: Stephen Morell
3rd Melbourne Grammar - Bow: R G Todd, 2: M C Lidwill, 3: H E Brooks, Str: E O Anderson, Cox: K S Cross, Cch: A J Evans
4th Wesley College
- Bow: J Watmuff, 2: E M Bunn, 3: N G Robertson, Str: H J W Hughes, Cox: H Clements, Cch: E M Derrick

Second Crews

(This was not raced at the Head of the River regatta but on Albert Park Lake on 11th October 1895.)

Time: NTT
Margins: 2 lengths and 4 lengths

1st Geelong Grammar
2nd Melbourne Grammar
3rd Wesley College

< previous 1894
> next 1896

top of page