Skip navigation

1893 Head of the River

The twenty-sixth Head of the River was again conducted on the Lower Yarra upstream on 19th May enabling a four crew final. Melbourne Grammar having the choice of course in this year. Geelong Grammar regained the winning position with a solid two length win.

By the half mile, it was clear that Geelong would win subject to accidents. A good race developed for minor placings and Wesley were not in the race.

Scotch were without their usual stroke A R Lewis due to exams.

Index to Results:



Starter: Mr George E Upward

Umpire: Mr George E Upward

Judge: Mr C S Cunningham


Head of the River

Time: 8:21.0
Margins: 2, 3 & 4 lengths

1st Geelong Grammar - Bow: W Bailey, 2: C E Bailey, 3: A M Greenfield, Str: E E James, Cox: H Cross, Cch: James L Cuthbertson
2nd Melbourne Grammar - Bow: C L Macartney, 2: L A Cleveland, 3: E O Anderson, Str: H D Anderson, Cox: F N Pleasance, Cchs: A S Workman & A J Evans
3rd Scotch College - Bow: John B Armstrong, 2: Alfred G Johnson, 3: John B McLean, Str: Henry C Winneke, Cox: William H S Bignell, Cch: Frank O Johnston
4th Wesley College - Bow: A B Campbell, 2: H R Walsh, 3: J W Hughes, Str: C H McCarron, Cox: H Johnson, Cch: E A Derrick

1893 Melbourne Grammar Crew

Second Crew

(This was not raced at the Head of the River regatta but on the Lower Yarra on 13th October 1893.)

Time: NTT
Margin: 3 lengths

1st Geelong Grammar
2nd Melbourne Grammar

< previous 1892
> next 1894

top of page