Skip navigation

1885 Head of the River

The eighteenth Head of the River was conducted 15th and 16th May 1885 on the Upper Yarra course.

Wesley were again absent due to injury to their three man.

Geelong Grammar was supreme by 1 1/2 lengths over Melbourne Grammar. They led by far more earlier in the race but the Melbourne crew fought back very well. This was to be the first of six straight wins for Geelong Grammar.

A view of the City of Melbourne at that time looking north with the old Prince's Bridge and boat shed in the middle.

Index to Results:




Starter: Mr G G Henderson

Umpire: Mr A Nicholls

Judge: Mr J Irvine

Head of the River

Time: NTT
Margin: 1 1/2 lengths

1st Geelong Grammar - Bow: A J Bailey, 2: J E Robertson, 3: J Rutherford, Str: S F Mann, Cox: F N Clarke, Cch: James L Cuthbertson
2nd Melbourne Grammar - Bow: H S H Baird, 2: J R Mouritz, 3: W C MacKnight, Str: E Champion, Cox: E G H Graham, Cch: W M Burn

Other crew competing:
Scotch College - Bow: William L Aitken, 2: Ewen Macpherson, 3: Arthur M Begg, Str: Andrew R Robertson, Cox: Henry N Young, Cch: Alfred W Pace

Wesley College did not compete this year. One report advises that this waas due to injury to a crew member.

Heat result:
1st MGS, 2nd SC, Margin: 3 lengths. Geelong Grammar secured a bye.

1885 Geelong Grammar Rudder

Second Crew

(This race was not conducted as part of the Head of the River regatta.)

Time: NTT
Margin: 1/4 length

1st Melbourne Grammar School
2nd Geelong Grammar

< previous 1884
> next 1886

top of page