Skip navigation

1882 Head of the River

The fifteenth Head of the River was conducted on 12th and 13th May 1882 on the Upper Yarra.

The race was tight with less than a length separating the crews with most of the margin coming in the last part of the race.

Geelong Grammar took the honours in both the first and second crews.

Index to Results:



Starter: Mr Edward Carlile
Umpire: Mr George E Upward
Judge: J W Colville

George Upward in 1906

Head of the River

Time: NTT
Margin: 3 feet

1st Geelong Grammar - Bow: H E Austin, 2: H Brush, 3: F W Fairbairn, Str: W L St L Robertson, Cox: J Dudgeon, Cch: James L Cuthberston
2nd Scotch College - Bow: George Lewis, 2: George L Aitken, 3: Colin C McCulloch, Str: Charles A Finlay, Cox: Francis E Jacomb, Cch: John Wallace

Other crews competing were:
Wesley College - Bow: S L Angwin, 2: R W Chapman, 3: W I Harse, Str: W J Robb, Cox: P Oakley, Cch: G H Brown
Melbourne Grammar - Bow: J T H Goodwin, 2: H Burgess, 3: F W Osborne, Str: Conway M MacKnight, Cox: E R T Kitchen, Cch: J G Burton

E1: 1st GGS, 2nd WC, Margin: 4 lengths
E2: 1st SC, 2nd MGS, Margin: 4 lengths

Second School Four

(Unlikely that this was raced at the Head of the River regatta)

Time: NTT

1st Geelong Grammar
2nd Wesley College

Other crews competing:
Scotch College
Melbourne Grammar

E1: 1st WC, 2nd SC. Margin: 1 length
E2: 1st GGS, 2nd MGS. Margin: 2 lengths

< previous 1881
> next 1883

top of page