Skip navigation

Men's Under 23 Scull Summary


There were many imperatives for the introduction of under 23 events at the National Championships. These included selection for Australian crews in the Match des Seniors events with Australia's first representation being in 1981 andthe use of the AIS in the 1980s as a development centre focussing on under 23 rowers.

The winners of this event have usually gone onto become leading Australian oarsmen with most being Australian representatives and medallists overseas.

In recent years it has been contested by very large fileds of scullers.

Prior to this event, emerging scullers raced in the men's junior (not under 19) scull.


2000 National Champion David Crawshay

Year 1st 2nd 3rd 4th 5th 6th Time
1982 Anthony Lovrich, Perth & Collegians, WA Hamish McGlashan, MUBC, VIC Brenton Terrell, Port Adelaide, SA Bruce McNaughton, Corio Bay, VIC     7:21.20
1983 Paul Reedy, MUBC, VIC Brenton Terrell, Port Adelaide, SA         7:26.34
1984 Murray Doust, Drummoyne, NSW Robert Leach, MUBC, VIC Ed Fessey, Glebe, NSW Andrew Fairfield-Smith, Canberra, ACT Tony Inglis, MUBC, VIC Andrew Palmer, Buckingham, TAS 8:25.40
1985 Richard Finlayson, ACT Brice Hick, Leichhardt, QLD Andrew Fairfield-Smith, Canberra, ACT Peter Oxenford, Commercial, QLD Craig Waghorn, Haberfield, NSW Ian Carroll, UQBC, QLD 7:33.40
1986 Ben Gier, Narrabundah Easts, ACT Ian Carroll, UQBC, QLD Andrew Fairfield-Smith, Canberra, ACT Andrew Palmer TUBC, TAS Cameron Prout, Commercial, QLD Gordon Marcks, ACT 7:41.07
1987 Ben Gier, Narrabundah Easts, ACT           7:27.06
1988 James McKee, Ballarat City, VIC           6:42.67
1989 Wayne Diplock, UQBC, QLD           9:00.95
1990 M Turner, Torrens, SA           9:01.08
1991 Craig Jones, Canberra, ACT           7:24.80
1992 Duncan Free, Tweed Heads, QLD           7:14.37
1993 Ron Snook, Curtin Uni, WA           7:19.96
1994 Ralph Cruikshank, Commercial QLD           7:20.94
1995 David Cameron, Lower Clarence, NSW           7:24.71
1996 Martin Inglis, Sydney, NSW           7:02.92
1997 M Quinn, ECU Perth WA           7:48.50
1998 Peter Hardcastle, Nepean, NSW           7:26.25
1999 Jono Fievez, ECU Perth, WA           7:08.54
2000 David Crawshay, Mercantile, VIC           7:15.80
2001 Mitchell Punch, Canberra, ACT           7:10.79
2002 Scott Brennan, Lindisfarne, TAS           7:19.84
2003 T Westgarth, Capital Lakes, ACT           7:21.11
2004 Mitchell Punch, Canberra, ACT Nicholas Phelps, MUBC, VIC Patrick Storman, Sydney, NSW David Kelly, Swan River, WA Danjels Reedman, St George, NSW Gareth Salkield, Commercial, QLD 7:23.09
2005 Sam Renton, UQBC, QLD Anthony Males, Lindisfarne, TAS Andrew Wilson, SUBC, NSW David Kelly, Swan River, WA Gareth Salkield, Commercial, QLD Patrick Storman, Sydney, NSW 7:11.71
2006 James McRae, Murray Bridge, SA Anthony Males, Lindisfarne, TAS Sam Renton, UQBC, QLD William Chambers, SUBC, NSW Danjels Reedman, St George, NSW Mitchell Estens, SUBC, NSW 7:49.23
2007 Danjels Reedman - St George, NSW Sam Renton - UQBC, QLD Steven Fletcher - Swan River, WA Jared Bidwell - UQBC, QLD Matthew Bolt - AUBC, SA Jerry Ellis - ECU Perth, WA 7:03.01
2008 Jared Bidwell, UQBC (QLD) Tom Swann, Mercantile (VIC) Christopher Riddell, Mercantile (VIC) Matthew Bolt, AUBC (SA) Kieran Kobelke, Mosman (NSW)
Jerey Ellis, Perth (WA) 7:06.17

< index

< previous Men's Lightweight Eight Summary

> next Women's Under 23 Scull Summary


top of page