Skip navigation

Men's Under 19 Double Scull Summary
Crews Race for the Tim Hawkins Memorial Trophy

Hawkins Trophy

The Tim Hawkins Memorial Trophy

The Tim Hawkins Memorial Trophy was presented in 2003 by the family of Tim Hawkins in his memory. The base of the trophy contains his photograph and the following words:

Timothy Leigh Hawkins
(14/11/1973 – 12/10/2002)

Tim commenced his rowing career at the age of 10 as a coxswain at the Lindisfarne Rowing Club and Geilston Bay High School in Tasmania . He represented Tasmania on several occasions winning the Australian Junior Double Scull Championship in 1991 and went on to represent Australia in the double scull at Under 23 and Senior World Championships. Tim retired from competitive rowing at the age of 23 having been to 16 National Championships, to concentrate on doing Commerce/Law degrees at the University of Tasmania which he successfully completed with Honours in Law. Tim still remained a keen supporter of rowing and an active member of the Lindisfarne Rowing Club giving many voluntary days work to rebuild the rowing club after it was burnt to the ground in 1997. He would help the younger rowers at the club and local schools with coaching and advice whenever he could. Tim tragically died at the age of 28 by a terrorist bomb in Bali on 12 October 2002 .


This event has had some great winners including Tim Hawkins in whose memory the trophy is named.

1982 Champions

Inaugural Champions from Corio Bay in 1982

Year 1st 2nd 3rd 4th 5th 6th Time
1982 Corio Bay, VIC Canberra Grammar No 1, ACT Drummoyne / Haberfield, NSW Canberra Grammar No 2, ACT     5:19.90
1983 No race            
1984 ACT Commercial / Brisbane, QLD Glebe No 3, NSW Glebe No 2, NSW Glebe No 1, NSW   5:21.8
1985 Nepean, NSW Equal 2nd Mercantile / Robinvale, VIC Equal 2nd WAIT / Swan River, WA Tweed Heads, QLD     5:13.9
1986 Nepean No 1, NSW Nepean No 2, NSW Glenorchy, TAS Sandy Bay, TAS Tweed Heads / UQBC, QLD   5:33.07
1987 Ballarat / Bendigo, VIC           5:09.88
1988 Bendigo, VIC           4:45.39
1989 No race            
1990 Mosman / Sydney, NSW           8:14.01
1991 Lindisfarne, TAS / Canberra, ACT           6:41.10
1992 UQBC / Commercial, QLD           7:36.22
1993 AIS, ACT           6:26.70
1994 Toowong QLD / Armidale, NSW           6:36.55
1995 Perth, WA           6:43.59
1996 ECU Perth, WA           6:43.72
1997 Nepean, NSW           7:14.18
1998 Lindisfarne, TAS           7:40.40
1999 ACT Composite           6:38.32
2000 Lindisfarne, TAS           6:42.50
2001 Lindisfarne, TAS           6:44.63
2002 Commercial, QLD           6:54.12
2003 Commercial / Toowong, QLD           6:50.87
2004 Swan River, WA           6:55.51
2005 Murray Bridge / AUBC, SA ECU Perth / UWA, WA ECU Perth / Bunbury, WA UQBC, QLD Mercantile / Corio Bay, VIC Mosman, NSW 6:34.31
2006 UQBC / Toowong, QLD Canberra, ACT Bunbury, WA Adelaide / Pulteney, SA Mosman, NSW Huon, TAS 6:47:34
2007 Surfers Paradise, QLD Canberra, ACT / UQBC, QLD Bunbury, WA Tamar / Mersey, TAS Grammerians, QLD Nepean, NSW 6:42.56

< previous Women's Under 19 Scull Summary

> next Women's Under 19 Double Scull Summary


top of page